Konosuba Light Novel Volume 12 Review (SPOILERS!)

Alright, since I’ve yet to do a Light Novel review, lets start it off with Konosuba Volume 12!  YAY!

After watching the anime, I got obsessed with Konosuba.  Sadly, as the 2nd season ended, my obsession was dying more and more and for some reason, I didn’t want it to fade away.  So I started reading the Light Novel.  I was kind of scared since I heard from many fans that the Light Novel got hard to read because Aqua started becoming more and more annoying…  Yet I persevered and have now read volume 12 of this amazing adventure of my favorite goofballs!

Anyways, from here on out, there will be spoilers up ahead, so I don’t recommend you read on but…

SHIP!!!!!!!!  After all of the waiting, all the teasing, as well as pretty much 3 confessions, I repeat, THREE CONFESSIONS, the Kazuma x Megumin train is now rolling!  As this was a Darkness based book, I was expecting the ship to sink and for Kazuma to continue still being neutral despite how previous volumes have been, even prolly ending since Megumin would get over how indecisive Kazuma is.

That said, despite the ship sailing, I’m disappointed because…  it’s a Darkness volume.  I love Darkness, and she was funny, but a ship sails yet there is NO interaction between the couple after!

Anyways, the story goes with the adventurers avoiding Darkness because they don’t want to pay taxes.  How much are taxes?  Half of their income.  Naturally, Darkness makes it her duty to stop Kazuma herself, by handcuffing herself to him while wearing weights so that even if he drain touched her, he still wouldn’t be able to move.

How does he fight this?  He starts stripping her clothing one by one using “Steal!”  Only way to stop him is by running away from him, and after getting surrounded, Kazuma performs the crime of assaulting an officer to get arrested and avoid paying taxes…  just for the key to the handcuffs to be in an unknown area.

The rest of the night is spent with them handcuffed as they returned home, and having to sleep and bathe together while handcuffed.  Darkness confesses, and surprise, Kazuma rejects Darkness!  Darkness, feeling upset, tries to leave but the handcuffs stops her from leaving, which upsets her more and somehow gets her to try and rape Kazuma.

When I say try, I really mean try.  She was so pent up, she didn’t know how to actually rape him and Kazuma ended up giving instructions on it just in basic Kazuma fashion.

Really, the entire book was hilarious, but I wish there was more Megumin here.  One thing I really like was how it was focused on the story between Darkness and Chris though, showing more of their relationship of best friends, while showing just how much Eris cares about her believers.  Darkness was hilarious in this novel and her masochism has actually never been more funnier.

All in all, I only have few complaints about this book.  Not enough Megumin, and after Megumin confesses, there’s no kiss between them at all…  YET THERES 2 KISSES BETWEEN DARKNESS AND KAZUMA (all forced by Darkness).  I don’t mind the Kazuma x Darkness moments, but like…  this is after the confession a lot of fans have been waiting for!  Other than that, this was a great volume and I loved it.  I couldn’t stop laughing and I found myself glued to this book that I finished it right away.  I really can’t wait for volume 13!

 

This entry was posted in Konosuba, Light Novel, Rant, Review. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment